AND SO IT BEGINS

Hi. My name is Jesse and I’m an alcoholic.

I know what you’re thinking; “Jesse is such a sweet kid. He’s not an alcoholic!” I agree, I’m a sweet kid, but I have to disagree on the latter. Though I’m not the typical alcoholic (I don’t drink daily, sometimes not even weekly!), I have learned that binge drinking is another form of alcoholism.

For those that know me, I am no stranger to partying hard and blacking out. In fact, I black out most nights that I hit the drink.

Image

It’s a scary thing to lose control and have no recollection of the night before. It has been the cause of many problems, embarrassment and financial problems; most recently, losing two pairs of glasses in two weeks.

So as of June 1, I have decided to break this hangover habit and limit my drinking.

I have tried quitting cold turkey in the past which has only resulted in me falling back into old ways on my first attempt back in the social drinking game.

These past attempts have foiled not due to lack of support, but due to my lack of motivation and willingness to quit the bottle.

After much deliberation I settled upon a 3 drink limit. This enables me to still go out, get loose and not feel like the odd man out.

Image

I invite you along for the ride, through the highs and lows of this journey as I share this experience and some drunken stories from my past in an attempt to (finally) take control of this problem.

Comment on this post...