PRE-POUZZA OTTAWA

I woke up to an e-mail from Wayne who sent over demos from my band, Small Town Rivals. I immediately set out to record my guitar tracks for 6 of the songs.

I am so stoked on how they are sounding so far. I can’t wait to hear vocals and the final mix. I finished recording just in time to meet up with Bailey who flew in from Whistler.

After having a few brews, Bailey met up with some of his old friends from the Capital City and I headed over to 558 Gladstone with a 6-pack of PBR and my friend Graham to see one of my favourite bands for the first time, Junior Battles.

The scene was exactly what I was expecting, a hot and crowded basement and full of people drinking and having a good time. Brat Attack opened with a very fast and loud set. It was quite enjoyable.

Next up was Junior Battles. Now, tonight was different for the band having Randy from Stay Home join them on bass. Randy didn’t skip a beat and played flawlessly. It’s hard to believe that he’s never jammed with the band before. The set was full of sing-a-longs with songs “Seventeen”, “Passing Out” and “Basements”.


Today we take the Greyhound to Montreal. Inside Riot and The Snips are getting a head start on things and playing a pre-Pouzza Fest show tonight.

Follow me on Twitter and expect daily posts on the site documenting my Pouzza Fest weekend. It’s going to be a wild one.

Comment on this post...

